Is It Really On Sale?

Spring is here and summer is quickly approaching, so I decided to clean out my closet and update my wardrobe. Most of the articles of clothing I purchased were on sale…or were they?

Truth in Advertising?

One of the items I purchased was a very nice St. Johns Bay sweater that had a blue $10 sticker, strategically over what appears to be the original price. To me…this sticker  indicated that the sweater was on sale.

Sale-Price-$10

Just for kicks, I thought I’d look to see the original price, so I began to peel off that little blue $10 sticker. Low and behold, there was a red sticker, indicating that the article was previously on sale for $20.

Sale-$20

Ok…so I then peeled back the $20 sticker and found that the original selling price was….now wait for it…$20.

Orig-Price

What!!! The original price was $20? But I thought it was on sale for $20 and now at a real bargain of $10!

I realize that I’ve been out of the retail clothing business for many years, but come on…Back in the good ol’ days when I walked 10 miles to school in knee high snow, up hill, I don’t remember fudging a sale price. Come on…Really? I’ve had customers try to haggle, but never did we fudge a sale price.

If those are the tactics retailers are now employing to gain sales then what a shame. Oh well…It’s the way it is.

Did this discovery make me take the sweater back protesting?

No….

Will I go back and purchase from this retailer again?

Yes…

Really…I don’t find it to be that discouraging, it was just somewhat silly and somewhat discouraging.

Do I believe I received a good deal on the sweater?

Yes…Compared to others of like or lesser quality, I’m happy with my purchase.

Marketing is ever evolving, and while the tactics may change the overall principles remain the same.

Share your marketing experiences. The good, the bad and the ugly. What works and what doesn’t. We can all learn a little something from each other.

About F.C.I.M.C

First Capital Internet Marketing Consultants LLC provides valuable internet marketing and social media solutions that are designed to improve search engine rankings, visitors and return on investment.
This entry was posted in Advertising, Retail Marketing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.